For ACA Instructors


The Paddlesports Safety Facilitator (PSF) certification program teaches basic safety and paddling knowledge, as well as simple rescue skills for canoe, kayak, and SUP. The training for this certification includes a base knowledge module (non-craft specific) plus three complementary modules that focus specifically on canoeing, kayaking, and stand up paddling (SUP). This certification allows the facilitator to introduce paddlecraft safety and knowledge to the beginner paddler in a land-based setting.

Paddlesports Safety Facilitator (PSF) Program

This PSF certification program can be delivered by any ACA Level 3 Instructor (or higher), any ACA Level 1 or 2 Instructor with the PSF Endorsement, or any Instructor Trainer (IT) or Educator (ITE), within their discipline(s) of certification. In order to deliver each of the specific craft modules (canoe, kayak, or SUP), the Instructor, IT, or ITE must be certified or formally assessed within each specific discipline. For example: A currently certified canoeing Instructor Trainer must also hold instructor certification or documented skills assessments in kayaking and SUP in order to deliver all three craft specific modules.

Complete the 1-day course (approximately 4 hours for the base module and 1 hour for each of the craft specific modules). You will also be required to complete a written exam in order to pass the course. In order to receive official credentialing documentation of this certification, you must be an ACA member.

PSF Curriculum

General Module

Read More

Canoe Module

Read More

Kayak Module

Read More

SUP Module

Read More