Regional Activity Council (RAC) - ACA

About Us

Regional Activity Council (RAC)

The Regional Activity Council (RAC) is a National Activity Council for the ACA, providing a voice for ACA members through their Regional Chairs, State Directors, State Councils, and Paddle America Club members.

The RAC represents ACA’s grassroots membership and helps to promote and support the various areas of ACA’s mission: safety, education and instruction, competition, stewardship and public policy, diversity, equity and inclusion, and recreation. The RAC seeks to enhance communication and volunteer activities that benefit the mission and values of the ACA. In addition, this National Activity Council allows ACA leaders to mentor up-and-coming paddlesports leaders in activities related to community building, public policy and stewardship, and regional partnerships. These local ACA volunteers can:

  • Help paddlers find local instruction or connect with regional instructor certification opportunities
  • Promote competition, training, stewardship and other community-based paddlesports events
  • Build coalitions for paddler advocacy initiatives, and much more

The ACA needs your help to support all paddlers accessing America’s waterways in a fun and safe manner. Everything we do is inspired by our passionate and dedicated members.

Contact Your Representatives


  • Northeast: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont
  • East Coast: Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia
  • Southeast: Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee
  • Gulf States: Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Oklahoma, and Texas
  • Midwest: Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin
  • Heartland: Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota
  • Rocky Mountain: Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming
  • Pacific West: Alaska, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington
  • US Territories (other than DC): American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands
  • International: All non-US locations

Executive Committee

Chair: Andrea White

Vice-Chair: Ryan Pepper

Past Chair: Meredith Waters

Secretary: Bev Cosslett

Affiliate Clubs: Brendan Nelson

Regional Representatives

Northeast: Ann Barry

East Coast: Paula Hubbard

Southeast: Andrea White

Gulf States: Lynne Andrus

Midwest: Ryan Pepper

Heartland: Perry Whitaker

Rocky Mountain: Ryan Pepper (Interim)

Pacific West: Jamie Eubanks

U.S. Territories: Omar Ramos

International: Stanley Esquivel Mesen


Ex-Officio Members:

Board Liaison: Jerry Dunne

SEIC Liaison: John MacDonald

Competition Council Liaison: Thom Crockett (Interim)

State Directors


Alaska: Brian McGorry

Arizona: Sean Tracey

Arkansas: Helen Harvey

California: Anthea Raymond


Connecticut: Martin Torresquintero

District of Columbia: Meredith Waters


Florida: Diana Perez

Georgia: William Beverley-Blanco


Idaho: Moriya Beck

Illinois: John Wiegert

Indiana: Margaret Jane Easton

Iowa: Tim Hammond


Kentucky: Ruth Robinson



Maryland: Randi Kruger

Massachusetts: Amanda Major

Michigan: Barbara Carmichael

Minnesota: Chris Evans


Missouri: Todd Wilkinson


Nebraska: Pete Jizba

Nevada: Patti Carothers

New Hampshire:

New Jersey: Allison Hartman

New Mexico: Michael Carney

New York: MK Joyce

North Carolina: William Holman

North Dakota:

Ohio: Kelly Rudolph


Oregon: Nicole Smedegaard

Pennsylvania: Valerie Beichner

Rhode Island: Mark Marosits

South Carolina: Christopher Rezac

South Dakota:

Tennessee: Samantha Satterfield

Texas: Chris Arceneaux

Utah: John MacDonald

Vermont: Michael Blanchard

Virginia: Adam Parker

Washington: Megan Kelly

West Virginia: Courtney Crabtree

Wisconsin: Ken Braband


Outstanding State Director Award

The Outstanding State Director Award is presented to one or more State Directors each year for their contributions to enhancing paddlesports in their state.

2020 - Tennessee - Andrea White

Read More

2018 - Arkansas - Tom Burroughs

Read More

2017 - New York - Mike Cavanaugh

Read More

2016 - Florida - Peg Phillips

Read More

2015 - Arizona - Danielle Keil

Read More

2015 - Puerto Rico - Omar Ramos

Read More