Ian LaRiche - ACA



Ian LaRiche

Hometown Charlotte, NC
Events MC1
Years On Team 2 (Since 2023)
Club Charlotte Whitewater Racing Club
Born 02/13/2008
Hobbies Canoe Slalom , Freestyle Kayaking , Mountain Biking , Skateboarding , Reading Manga , Playing with my cats , Video Games and Binging Hells Kitchen

“Illusions commend themselves to us because they save us pain and allow us to enjoy pleasure instead. We must therefore accept it without complaint when they sometimes collide with a bit of reality against which they are dashed to pieces.” – Sigmund Freud


  1. I am fluent in German.
  2. I have 4 cats and 2 dogs.
  1. I am half polish.
  2. I have been paddling since I was 11.
  • U.S. Team Trials

    2nd Jr. MC1, Jr. Team Trials

    2nd Jr. MC1, Jr. Team Trials
  • Other

    2nd Jr. MC1, U.S. Open

More about Ian

First Strokes

My father used to do recreational boating when we were very little kids. Years later in 2019, I were asking about the old kayak the basement and that led to me going to a summer camp at the USNWC, didn’t do too much kayaking after that first week but in 2020 Covid hit and for an entire summer all I did were summer camps out at the USNWC and got pretty good. Eventually I decided to go down to the NOC and tried a slalom Kayak, kept doing Kayak Slalom for about 2 years then in Poland, wanting to do kayaking but not finding a boat, I was sort of forced to try the canoe out and after that week, all I have done for almost 2 years now is Canoe Slalom.

Off the Water

When I’m not paddling I’m usually at home either working out, running, lazing around, or hanging out with some friends. I play a few video games and watch way too many cooking shows. I have 4 cats and end up spending a lot of time playing and petting them.